Reloading 9mm question

Discuss all things reloading...
Forum rules
Please remember, reloading can be very dangerous if done improperly. All advice found here is from peer members, not official reloading manuals. Reload at your own risk.
Merlyn
City: Spokane Valley
Favorite Firearm: CZ 75B
Next Firearm: AR15

Reloading 9mm question

Post by Merlyn » Sat Oct 17, 2015 10:32 am

I am not an expert on reloading but have had good success with what I have done up till now. I'm reloading 9MM and putting it through a new CZ 75B Omega. Every now and then, a round gets stuck part way in to the tube. I loaded with 115gr FMJ, Tight Group powder. I took the load information off the Hadgdon Website and place my loads half way between the light and heavy. 4.5gr. I.m thinking that it isn't enough powder to push the slide all the way back, (really tight spring) and the new round isn't quite ready to go in to the pipe. Any extra thoughts here or might I be on the right track?

BC38
SGT Premium Supporter
City: Spokane Valley, WA
Favorite Firearm: The one I have on me
Next Firearm: We'll see

Re: Reloading 9mm question

Post by BC38 » Sat Oct 17, 2015 11:03 am

Merlyn wrote:I am not an expert on reloading but have had good success with what I have done up till now. I'm reloading 9MM and putting it through a new CZ 75B Omega. Every now and then, a round gets stuck part way in to the tube. I loaded with 115gr FMJ, Tight Group powder. I took the load information off the Hadgdon Website and place my loads half way between the light and heavy. 4.5gr. I.m thinking that it isn't enough powder to push the slide all the way back, (really tight spring) and the new round isn't quite ready to go in to the pipe. Any extra thoughts here or might I be on the right track?
Double check your Cartridge Over All Length (COAL) - especially on any round that hangs up partway into the chamber. If they are too long that can cause feeding issues.