Glock 17 Gen 1 buy or dont buy price is 475.00

Discuss Glock pistols and Glock related topics...
ghillieinthemist
SGT Premium Supporter
City: Post Falls, ID
Favorite Firearm: R25 in .243
Next Firearm: ???????

Glock 17 Gen 1 buy or dont buy price is 475.00

Post by ghillieinthemist » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:01 pm

let me know. I'm not a Glock fanatic So I'm pretty in the dark on this subject.
Do or do not there is no try.

ron
SGT Premium Supporter
City: Cheney
State: WA
Favorite Firearm: G20SF
Next Firearm: Flintlock Rifle

Re: Glock 17 Gen 1 buy or dont buy price is 475.00

Post by ron » Wed Aug 24, 2016 9:53 pm

ghillieinthemist wrote:let me know. I'm not a Glock fanatic So I'm pretty in the dark on this subject.
I'm not an expert but that might be little high for a Gen 1 unless it's in VG or close to NIB condition. It may not even be a gen 1, it might be a gen 2 but either way condition is all-important especially with an older model. If it's a Gen 1 the first two letters of the serial number should be "DN" or "AN". I bought a Gen 2 Glock 19 and first thought it was a Gen 1 but I found out different. And then after taking it to the Glock Doc at Firearms Finishing, he looked it over and said it was in very good condition and even looked like it had been rebuilt with a lot of newer parts so I lucked out.

Another time I bought a police turn-in G23 from J&G sales for $ 350 and it was also in very nice condition except for external wear on the slide. So it's possible to get a good deal on a used Glock for a good price but you have to buy from someone you can trust. The 19 that I bought I got from Kieth at Northwest Pawn on Pines and Best Buy surplus on Trent sometimes has good deals on police turn-ins.
Government is not reason, it is not eloquence — it is force. Like fire it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master; never for a moment should it be left to irresponsible action.

ghillieinthemist
SGT Premium Supporter